Anatomy of a Fangirl

3oww26

“Space… The final frontier..
These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise.
Its continuing mission: To explore strange new worlds…To seek out new life; new civilizations…
To boldly go where no one has gone before.”

When Star Trek: The Next Generation premiered on September 28th,  1987 and Patrick Stewart first uttered those words as Jean Luc Picard, I was 3 weeks old. The show has been in my life since before I could walk or talk, so it’s no surprise that I spent the next 25 years of my life latching on to any fandom that struck my fancy.

While most little girls spend their time playing with Barbie dolls and dresses, I was watching Power Rangers and crushing on Wil Wheaton. I didn’t know it then, but this would be the start of a future of decisions outside the norm.

Now a days it is much easier to be a self proclaimed “nerd” or “geek” but when I was growing up you didn’t talk about these things. In the community I grew up in, during the 90’s and early 2000’s conformity was the “in” thing. Everyone wanted to keep up with the Jones’ and if you weren’t one of the elite (aka popular crowd) then you practically didn’t matter. Even though I seemingly blended into the background and went unnoticed for basically all of my adolescent life, it was for these reasons that I chose to keep my true passions a secret.

When I was 9 years old my cousin and I fell in love with a TV show you may have heard of. Buffy the Vampire Slayer captivated our young imaginations and gave us a heroine that we could idolize. Every time we had a family gathering we would huddle in her Aunt’s room and watch Buffy marathons. I’m going to assume that this is where my love of all things occult comes from.

That same year I can distinctly remember being in fourth grade and loving the Animorph book series. There were one or two of my classmates who liked them as well and we would talk to each other about them and pretend to be the characters. Looking back, I can also recall us being the outcasts in our classroom.

Since then, pop culture has rearranged itself. Everything present day seems to scream “Embrace the geek!” With Super Hero movies as far as the eye can see and even a sitcom about the nerdy Trek-loving Physicists of our generation, its as if the powers at be finally realized that a slightly awkward boy or girl who loves to cosplay and can tell you the name of Lt. Commander Data’s cat (its Spot by the way) can bring in many more dollars in retail than your typical jock or cheerleader.

That brings me to my conclusion, which inevitably ends up at Doctor Who. Some may say that because I am a late in life Whovian, (I didn’t stumble upon it until I was in my 20s) that I do not understand or respect the iconic BBC tale of a timelord and his companions. These people completely underestimate me in the worst possible way. I discovered Doctor Who while pregnant with my son in 2010 and it has been a love affair ever since. I may have not seen every episode, but I know the history. I know each Doctor through and through. Some days, I’d even pick Peter Davison’s 5th Doctor over all the others. But this, is just the latest in a long line of fandoms for me.

I felt that with the premier of Star Trek Into Darkness this past weekend (two enthusiastic thumbs up from this girl) that it would be poignant to start my first official blog post off with a bang. I really wanted to show you a big part of what I’m about from the start, and this was the best way to do that.

Now I’m going to leave you with a list of all the fandoms I have enjoyed over the years. I am still in love with all of these as much as I was the first time I discovered them, so if you ever feel like striking up a conversation with me, one of these would be the way to do it.

  • Star Trek (all series, mostly TOS, TNG, Enterprise and the JJ Abrams movies)
  • Star Wars
  • Power Rangers
  • Harry Potter
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Doctor Who
  • Sherlock
  • Being Human
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Batman
  • The Green Arrow
  • The Green Lantern
  • Thor
  • IronMan
  • Captain America
  •  The Mortal Instruments (Shadowhunter Chronicles)
  • The Eternity Series
  • Lost Girl
  • Firefly
  • Farscape
  • Red Dwarf
  • Battlestar Galactica
  • The Walking Dead
  • Game of Thrones (the book series & television show)
  • True Blood

And probably many others that I can’t think of at the current moment.

Thanks for reading.

Peace and Long life, and also…Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra.

2 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Fangirl

  1. We have almost all the same fandoms! Except Anamorphs… I have to retreat there.

    So say we all.

  2. Hahaha…I only liked Animorphs for like one year in 4th grade. Cut me some slack!

    So say we all.

Leave a Reply

